Key Projects

Assignment of kinetic energy to the regional economic development by innovation

Blade winglet Project

Project overview

As the world's largest wind power installation country, China has a cumulative installed capacity of more than 200GW. In the early stage of wind power projects, wind farm income is low or even loss due to inaccurate wind measurement data, decline of wind resources, site selection deviation and other issues.

he blade winglet wind turbine power increase and efficiency improvement project are a Sino-British cooperation project from the University of Oxford technical team introduced by Tus Sino-British Marine Science and Technology Research Institute. It is a comprehensive application of advanced aerodynamics, fluid mechanics, composite materials and other technologies to wind turbine tips. It can greatly reduce the cost of wind power when the wind power industry is restricted by the quality assurance of a large number of wind turbines, the decline in feed-in tariffs, and the reduction of subsidies, which play a key role in help companies maintain profit growth and achieve victory in parity competition.

Compared with other power increasing technologies, the wind turbine blade winglet technology involved in the project has the advantages of low cost, higher efficiency, and simple and convenient installation. It is currently the only application of blade double winglets technology in practice and has passed the technical verification. At present, this field is a blank area for domestic blade manufacturers.


Technological innovation


1. Creative source-modern aircraft design

In order to improve efficiency and reduce the aerodynamic loss caused by the tip vortex, winglet technology is widely used in modern aircraft design. It can effectively prevent the vortex at the tip of the wing, improve the lift-drag ratio, and achieve the purpose of increasing lift. At present, winglets are mainly divided into two categories, one is single-stage (such as Boeing 747-400), and the other is upper and lower two-stage (such as Airbus A310-300, A-380, Boeing 737).



A camber angle is usually designed for a single segment winglet to bring additional lift to the aircraft, but it also brings large additional bending moment to the wing root. Sometimes, the two-stage winglet is also called vortex diffuser. This kind of winglet focuses on blocking and separating the vortex. It is usually perpendicular to the main wing surface and does not generate additional lift. Therefore, it will not bring additional bending moment. This kind of winglet has no high requirements on the wing structure.





2. Creative application

Based on the aerodynamic theory, the blades of wind turbines are very similar to the wing, so the vortex loss of the wing tip is also very similar to that of the blade. In order to compensate for the loss of aerodynamic performance of the blade caused by the loss of the tip, it is also possible to increase the blade winglet to change the airflow distribution through the tip area and improve the power generation efficiency. The tip of the blade is the farthest from the center of the hub, and the loss of torque is greater, so it is very important to reduce the loss of the tip.


Leaf blower torque loss is bigger


The project will comprehensively apply advanced aerodynamics, fluid mechanics, composite materials and other technologies to mass-produced wind turbine blades and new technology blades suitable for offshore installation and has launched blade winglet for Chinese wind turbines.


Tus - Aero blade tip winglet CFD simulation


The tip winglet on the project by CFD simulation, the tip of the blade can smoothly through the air, airflow direction deviation is very small, can effectively reduce the blade tip vortex, blade power generation efficiency. And can according to the actual circumstance of blade, design tip winglet with different length.



Tip winglet with different length


3. Creative value

Take the 2017 project partner Anakata Wind Power Resources (UK) Ltd.’s 900KW-61m wind wheel diameter wind turbine installation test at EWT in the Netherlands as an example.



Without increasing the length of the blades, the relevant test results were obtained through three-month data collection of two wind turbines with and without winglets. The effective wind measurement data is in the region of 260-307deg, which shows that the annual wind power generation of wind turbine increases by 4.4% between cut in wind speed and rated wind speed.



The Netherlands 900 kw test fan test data


Applications

In November 2019, the "blade double winglets" power augmentation module installation demonstration project was successfully completed in a wind farm in Gansu. In this demonstration project, a total of two 1.5MW units were selected for demonstration prototype modification, and 2 adjacent units were selected for comparative inspection. The installation time was only 4 days and the test time was 6 months. This technology has the characteristics of high installation safety factor, short on-site construction period, and light weight of the blade extension. It is an innovative aerodynamic attachment device for increasing power and efficiency of wind turbines. It is the first domestic wind turbine “blade double winglets” power increasing component installation project.


In December 2019, the AN08 new vortex generator designed by the project technical team was installed in the Mingyang 1.5MW wind turbine unit of Hainan Wind Farm. According to the actual operating conditions, the unit used CFD to simulate and design the installation position of the vortex generator. Through theoretical calculations, the AN08 new vortex generator unit installed this time can increase the annual power generation of the wind turbine by at least 2%.




Cooperation model

In September 2019, Anakata Wind Power Resources (UK) Ltd signed a formal agreement to establish a joint venture company with Beijing Tus-Wind Technology Co., Ltd. and Shandong TUS–ORE Catapult Research Centre (TORC). In June 2020, the registration process of the joint venture company landing in Yantai high tech Zone has been completed.



Copyright © 2020 Tus Sino-British Marine Science and Technology Research Institute   Supported by Shanqiu

重点项目

推动国际技术成果转化,以创新动能赋能区域经济发展

叶尖小翼项目

项目概述

我国作为全球第一大风电装机国,累计装机超200GW,早期风电项目多因测风数据不准、风资源下降、选址偏差等问题导致风电场收益低甚至亏损。

叶尖小翼风机增功提效项目作为启迪中英海洋科技研究院引进的源自牛津大学技术团队的中英合作项目,是将先进的空气动力学、流体力学、复合材料学等技术综合应用在风力发电机叶片上,其可在大量风机出质保、上网电价退坡、补贴降低等风电行业受到限制的情况下,大幅降低风电成本,为企业保持利润增长,在平价竞争中获得胜利起到关键作用。

相对于其它增功技术,该项目涉及的风力发电机叶片小翼技术成本低、效率更高,且安装简单便捷,是目前唯一一项将叶尖双小翼技术应用于实践,且通过技术验证,目前该领域是国内叶片厂家的空白区域。


技术创新


1、创意来源-现代飞机设计

为了提高效率,减小由于叶尖涡流造成的气动损失,小翼技术广泛应用于现代飞机设计,它可以有效的阻止机翼尖部的涡流,提高升阻比,达到增加升力的目的。目前机翼小翼主要分为两大类,一是单段式(如波音747-400),另一个是上下双段式(如空客A310-300、A-380,波音737)。



单段式小翼通常会设计一个外倾角给飞机带来附加升力,但同时也会给翼根带来较大的附加弯矩。双段式小翼有时也被称作涡扩散器,这种小翼专注于对涡流的阻挡和分割,往往垂直于主翼面,不产生附加升力,因此不会带来额外弯矩,此种小翼对机翼的结构没有过高要求。





2、创意应用

基于空气动力学理论,风力发电机叶片与机翼非常类似,因此机翼翼尖的涡流损失与叶片也极其相似,为了弥补叶尖损失对叶片造成的气动性能损失,同样可以通过增加叶尖小翼的方式,改变流经叶尖区域的气流分布,提高发电效率。叶尖距离轮毂中心距离最远,损失的转矩更大,因此降低叶尖损失非常重要。


叶尖造成风机转矩损失更大


该项目将先进的空气动力学、流体力学、复合材料学等技术,综合应用在针对量产化风力发电机叶片及适应海上安装的新技术叶片上,并已推出适用于中国风机的叶尖小翼。


Tus-Aero叶尖小翼CFD模拟


该项目的叶尖小翼通过CFD模拟,叶片尖部的气流可以平稳的流过,气流方向偏差非常小,可以有效的减小叶尖涡流,提高叶片发电效率。并可根据叶片实际情况,设计不同长度的叶尖小翼。



不同长度的叶尖小翼


3、创意价值

以2017年项目合作方Anakata Wind Power Resources(UK)Ltd在荷兰EWT公司的900KW-61m风轮直径的风机安装小翼试验为例。



在不增加叶片长度的情况下,通过对增加小翼和不增加小翼的两台风机三个月数据的收集,得到相关的试验结果。测风有效数据为260–307deg区域,数据表明,在切入风速至额定风速之间,风机年发电量增幅达到4.4%。



荷兰900KW试验风机试验对比数据


应用案例

2019年11月,“叶尖双小翼”增功组件安装示范项目在甘肃某风电场顺利完成。该示范项目共选择2台1.5MW机组进行示范样机改造,同时选取2台临近机组进行对比检验,安装时间仅4天,测试时长6个月。该技术具有安装安全系数高、现场施工周期短、叶片延长部分重量轻等特点,是风机增功提效的创新空气动力附加装置,是国内首项风机“叶尖双小翼”增功组件安装项目。


2019年12月,该项目技术团队设计的AN08新型涡流发生器安装于海南风场明阳1.5MW风机机组,该机组根据实际运行情况,通过CFD模拟、设计涡流发生器的安装位置。通过理论计算,本次安装的AN08新型涡流发生器机组可将风机年发电量提升至少2%。




合作模式

2019年9月,Anakata Wind Power Resources(UK)Ltd与北京启迪清风科技有限公司、山东启迪恺特博特海洋科技有限公司(研究院的实体运营公司)签订成立合资公司正式协议,2020年6月合资公司落地烟台高新区的注册流程已完成。



版权所有 © 2020启迪中英海洋科技研究院   山丘技术支持